Forgiveness Has No But

Matthew‬ ‭18‬:‭21‬-‭35‬ ‭ESV
“Then Peter came up and said to him, “Lord, how often will my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? As many as seven times?” Jesus said to him, “I do not say to you seven times, but seventy-seven times. “Therefore the kingdom of heaven may be compared to a king who wished to settle accounts with his servants. When he began to settle, one was brought to him who owed him ten thousand talents. And since he could not pay, his master ordered him to be sold, with his wife and children and all that he had, and payment to be made. So the servant fell on his knees, imploring him, ‘Have patience with me, and I will pay you everything.’ And out of pity for him, the master of that servant released him and forgave him the debt. But when that same servant went out, he found one of his fellow servants who owed him a hundred denarii, and seizing him, he began to choke him, saying, ‘Pay what you owe.’ So his fellow servant fell down and pleaded with him, ‘Have patience with me, and I will pay you.’ He refused and went and put him in prison until he should pay the debt. When his fellow servants saw what had taken place, they were greatly distressed, and they went and reported to their master all that had taken place. Then his master summoned him and said to him, ‘You wicked servant! I forgave you all that debt because you pleaded with me. And should not you have had mercy on your fellow servant, as I had mercy on you?’ And in anger his master delivered him to the jailers, until he should pay all his debt. So also my heavenly Father will do to every one of you, if you do not forgive your brother from your heart.”

In other words, forgiveness is not a suggestion. It’s not a “good practice”. It’s not a recommendation for a healthy walk with God. It’s a COMMAND by God. I am experiencing this in my own life right now. God is calling me to some pretty intense forgiveness. I have been in a situation where I have allowed some anger in my heart. I have been doing some fasting this week and God is really dealing with me on this topic of forgiveness.

Unfortunately, this topic of forgiveness isn’t an agreed upon topic within THE Church. I just read an article where the writer argues that there has to be remorse and repentance on the receivers side in order to forgive them. This writer actually wrote these words, “Nowhere in the bible can I find a situation in which God forgives when there is no remorse.” I am not sure if this writer has read the Bible in it’s entirety. If so he would have read this:

Luke 23:34-37 
"And Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.” And they cast lots to divide his garments. And the people stood by, watching, but the rulers scoffed at him, saying, “He saved others; let him save himself, if he is the Christ of God, his Chosen One!” The soldiers also mocked him, coming up and offering him sour wine and saying, “If you are the King of the Jews, save yourself!” 

Or maybe the writer has never read what was said in Romans:

Romans 5:8
"but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us."

Both scriptures show the heart of Christ. He forgave when there was no remorse. Christians want to put that BUT on the end of forgiveness because it makes it more human. It makes it more easily obtainable. Jesus didn’t put conditions on “Father, forgive them…”

I am so sick of using “I am only human” as our excuse to ignore Christ-likeness. I hear people say, “Forgiveness is process”. Ok, so I DO agree that it is a process. But, what if we were really striving to be MORE than JUST human? What if, in our pursuit of being more like Christ, we actually rose above our own humanity? What if we were better? What if we sought after pure, unconditional forgiveness while losing the BUT. Yes, there days you wake up and have to make that choice to forgive all over again. But, it’s still forgiveness. It’s easier to forgive someone when they are sitting before you crying and begging for forgiveness. But, man oh man, try forgiving someone that isn’t repentant. Someone that remains on the opposite side of the table. I believe that kind of forgiveness is true Christ-likeness. And, it’s the kind of forgiveness many of you reading this are fighting to justify NOT taking on.

Like I said, God is working in me to do this. I am not writing this from a place of success. I am not writing this because I’ve figured this thang out. I am writing this from a place of brokenness. I am currently carrying some unforgiveness in my heart and I am going to God with that and asking Him to help me lay that at HIS feet. Forgiveness isn’t really even about that other person, or people. It’s between you and God. Yes, if there is mutual forgiveness then there can be reconciliation which we are called to as well. But, if the receiver is not in the same boat then you are still COMMANDED to forgive.

I want to be like Christ. To me, the prodigal son is a practical example of what I’m talking about…

Luke 15:20 
"And he arose and came to his father. But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and felt compassion, and ran and embraced him and kissed him."

The son hadn’t gotten anything out of his mouth before the father ran to him. The father had no way of knowing if the son was actually coming home to repent or maybe even take more money. Or what the son was thinking. The father just ran to the son and embraced him. I am so thankful God is that way with us.

My point today is this. Stop waiting to forgive. Stop putting conditions on forgiveness.

“Well, if they do X Y or Z then I’ll forgive”.
“If they forgive me I am ready to forgive them”.

I think that is cheap and fake. We talk a big game about how we want to live biblically and Christ-like and when we are faced with these things we cower out. It’s not easy. Again, I am facing this and fighting tooth and nail to give this to God. I haven’t yet. But, I am on that path and I am fighting to forgive. It doesn’t mean trust returns. It doesn’t mean the relationship goes back to where it was. There can be and we should seek reconciliation but there HAS to be forgiveness.

Forgive as an act of obedience to Christ.
Forgive as your greatest act of Worship to the King.

Just……Forgive as HE forgave.

Ephesians 4:32
“Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.”

So, as you’re considering this I want to leave you with one simple question.

What exactly did Christ do?
Or
How many times has He forgiven you?

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑